Fish and Chokes

I don’t make fish very often, not that I don’t like them, it’s because I don’t think I am skillful enough to make them. They always seem so fragile to me, and I hate overcooked fish.  So I don’t make very much fish in order to avoid disastrous dinners.  But I did today, simply because I didn’t want meat. And I realized that we haven’t made fish once since we are in Paris. So here we go for a simple fish dish. I pick up a good size fillet Fletan Noir from the market, and decided to make a tomato caper sauce to go with it.

Chop onions, saute with olive oil and a little bit of butter.

Until onion turn transparent, add chopped garlic, then add chopped celery.

Cook until celery turn soft, add diced tomato. Season with salt and pepper for taste. Add caper at last. Add a little bit of wine or water and simmer slowly until sauce thicken.  Spoon sauce on top of seared fish.

I was not convinced that it would be a pain in the arse to prepare artichokes myself at home, until I was actually drilling them in my tiny little kitchen. The first one was a disaster, my entire counter top and floor and sink were covered with artichoke leaves and those annoying “needles” from the heart of the chokes. However, I managed to peeled the other ones a little more efficiently after my first experiment. But it still wasn’t fun.  After peeling and cleaning the chokes, toss with salt, pepper, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil. Roast in oven under 160 F for about 20 – 30 min till soften and light browned.

Squeeze lemon juice to top before serve. All the work was worth it after my first bite of the chokes.

Feels like a pleasant spring/summer combo to me.  Cheers!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

